Me

12

12 days before my birthday.

I miss you. I miss my best friend. I need my best friend back not because I’m depressed or in need of someone to talk to. I have a lot of friends who can make time for that.

But I need you. YOU. Not them. Because it’s different when I’m talking to you. You pinpoint the feelings I’m having, and it’s scary, that preciseness you have with me when you choose to show it.

I need you because you know how to stir me up and make me aim for something that you know I can reach if only I’d just try.

You know when I’m scared of something. You know when I’m shortchanging myself. You tell me the things that I need to hear; things that I already know but not dare think about.

I need you, not because I’m in love with you. I guess that feeling is kind of taking a back seat. I don’t want to make our friendship an excuse to spend time with you because of my own romantic desires, because I don’t really need a reason to. I need you here because I do.

It’s just sad that you don’t feel the same way. And really, if that’s a fact, are you still my best friend?

Leave a Reply

